Sexual and Reproductive Health and Rights

Sorry For The Wait

So I haven’t posted in an incredibly long time. And, while that might have gone unnoticed for a great many people, some have asked what was up with me and whether I’ll be writing soon.

The answer is a definite yes. I will be writing soon, and probably writing a lot more. Interestingly enough, the reason I’ll be writing more is the same reason I have not been writing as of late…

I’ve recently gotten a job as CAISO’s Campaign Organizer. For the last two weeks, I’ve been helping organize their very first advocacy training for those who want to play a more active part in the fight for human rights for all sexualities. And it’s been a hard-ass job. Between coordinating facilitators, getting a space and caterers, managing attendance and even presenting myself, all I’ve done is learn and try to keep up. Even without some sick days, some home troubles and the occasional Random Act of God, I’ve realized even more than activist work is not like most jobs. It requires you to be flexible, think quickly, and talk to the entire world on the phone on any given day.

There’s still a lot of learning curve I’m trying to get around, and it’s still been less than a month. So far, I’m certain I’ve done a horrible job, but I’m giving it all I’ve got and learning a lot not only about working, but working where my energies are needed most – helping people.

Look out for some coverage of our trainings, as well as some of the stuff that’s been thrown our way in the last few weeks…

Join the discussion!

